“Mindlblowing!”

“The Fall” by Tarsem Singh

I just read this review for the film. Really looks amazing. I’m in the midst of writing a report on The Holy Mountain so its good to see that this type of highly personal/art film making is still happening. The director, Tarsem, financed the film himself from the money he made making commercials. Its interesting to see where cinema can go if you take out the financial equation and let something be independent. Tarsem has also directed R.E.M’s “Losing My Religion” and “Sweet Lullaby” by Deep Forest, a clip I remember seeing on SBS and which I always thought was awesome.

The clip above reminds me of this section of BARAKA, featuring the same Balinese dance, Kecak. Looking at it again, its actually a interesting example of multiplicity, which we talked about in a really interesting lecture a couple of weeks back.

Speaking of Indian film makers, I saw this excellent documentary last week called “Shot In Bombay“. I haven’t enjoyed a documentary that much in ages, it was a really amusing and entertaining look behind the scenes of filming a Bollywood film and some related heavy themes of corruption and the role of the police in India. I’ve found myself saying “mindblowing” a lot more often after watching it.

I’ve always had this plan to somehow make it to India and work as part of the crew for a film. Not necessarily Bollywood, but maybe something less commercial, maybe an Indian “art” film ideally, but anything. I know that alot of the film making in India is run by large families and extended family networks, but I don’t think its too fanciful, and after seeing this documentary the desire has only increased. Anyway it is 5am and I have to get back to the Jodoverse….

~ by hieronymusix on October 14, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
