First Post Introductions

Just a first test post. I’ll be using this blog throughout the course to show what I’ve been working on and thinking about, and also to link up some of my other interests. In the mean time thought I’d link up all the other sites that I have online, like my myspace, facebook, flickr, and a really old livejournal account. Anyone doing this unit/course feel free to link up!

I hope to compile a RSS feed of a lot of blogs which I’ve recently gotten into, most music based stuff with related podcasts and MP3 downloads. I’ve found that its a great way to explore and expand the music one is exposed to. I recommend Paris DJ’s, which have great downloadable podcasts of everything from West Indian Funk to West African Rock.

I’m thinking I will also probably post on any new photo galleries I upload to ITM. In the week before the semester started I spent some time in Melbourne and Sydney checking out some shows & catching up with family. Here are some:

Elf Tranzporter & Melodics @ Bar Open (click for photos)

Uber Lingua Post World Party @ Laundry (click for photos)

Might as well try and add a video and make this a complete multimedia post. I just found this clip today while I was searching for more information about Kuduro (see below):

Buraka Som Sistema “Sound of Kuduro (feat. M.I.A.)” Video Clip

Anyway, here is a copy of my introduction from this Unit’s website.

——-

Hey everyone,I’m a Canberra local, but my family is from Colombia originally. I went to ANU straight out of school and ended up leaving with 4/5th of an Arts degree which at the time seemed a little dissapointing but actually worked out well because now that I’m doing the double degree Arts/Media Produciton, half of it is already in the can!

Anyway, I’ve been doing live music/gig photography for a while, and am interested in music and film and all their possible combinations.

Music takes up a large part of my time, both listening, playing, and searching out new and obscure sounds that are popping up all over the world!. I’ve recently been getting into Kudro, a type of club music from Angola, Africa.

I’ve also been obsessed with the films of Alejandro Jodorowsky.

This year I’ve stared organising some reggae events in Canberra to try and get some of the bands and music I like played here. The music scene is ACT is good but small!

I’m hoping to go on student exchange to Mexico City next semester.

Oh I’m also the moron who left his mobile phone on in the first lecture, but I can see that I’m not alone!

~ by hieronymusix on July 29, 2008.

One Response to “First Post Introductions”

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

 
